

## Minutes from the ELC Annual Member's Assembly September 13<sup>th</sup>, 2023, 15:00

## Venue: Tutzing, Evangelische Akademie, Auditorium

The assembly was chaired by the Chairman of the ELC, Alexander Bartelt. Alexander started by explaining that all delegates at the annual meeting automatically become members of the ELC with a possibility to opt out. ELC Statutes declare that "Every participant at the annual meeting becomes a member of the Club" (Article 3). "All ELC members can vote for the next OC members" (Article 7).

This year, 114 abstracts were submitted, 94 applicants. All abstracts were blinded by the ELC administrator and graded by all OC members (Score  $\geq$  3.6 oral; Score  $\geq$  2 and  $\leq$  3.55 poster; Score  $\leq$  2.0 rejected; Abstract from Russian (n=6) were not taken into consideration.)

We had 94 presentations (42 oral and 52 posters) and 5 invited talks and 9 OC members and 2 sponsor representatives. The number of participants for this year's meeting was 112 from 14 countries.

54% participants were female but only 18% in the senior classification (<35 years old)

Survey ELC 2022: 66% were regular attendees; 83% excellent meeting; 59% program excellent and 88% venue excellent; 88% likely attend 2023; Suggestions: program more translational, more time for poster, diversified program.

## Feedback on program book: Yay or Nay?

Alexander explained the General Data and Protection Regulation. All delegates at the annual meeting automatically become members of the ELC with a possibility to opt out. The goal of the ELC outreach is to attract all groups in Europe interested in lipid-related science.

Alexander thanked all our sponsors (AstraZeneca, NewAmsterdam Pharma, Sable, Lipigon, Biosfer Teslab) and especially the EAS for the sustained support. Special thanks to the help from the EAS office, especially to Tania Börjesson who serves as the ELC administrator. He announced the 92<sup>th</sup> EAS Congress in Lyon, France (May 26-29, 2024) for which ELC members will get a promo code sent by Tania Börjesson to sign up as EAS members. All ELC participants will receive a complementary EAS membership for 1 year. The annual meeting of the Scandinavian Society of Atherosclerosis Research in Humlebaek (March 13-16, 2024) was also announced and people were invited to send their abstracts (deadline beginning of January 2024).

The date for the 47<sup>th</sup> ELC meeting (September 09-12, 2024), Keynote Speaker, Bart Staels. Invited speakers: Camilla Scheele, Katey Rayner, Oliver Söhnlein, Tony Futerman, and deadline for submission of abstracts (April 24, 2024; only one abstract per presenter) were presented. Schedule of the program and registration costs will be kept the same as this year. No option to choose between oral or poster presentation.

The chairman then introduced the organizing committee (OC), presented the current OC members and thanked the outgoing members Mathilde Varret and Christina Christoffersen.

Alexander explained the nomination and election process. ELC members nominated three candidates that were selected by the OC committee (Fabrizia Bonacina, Liv Nordestgaard, Renate Schreiber). Two out of three can be elected as new OC members. The nominees introduced themselves in 1 minute. Fabrizia Bonacina, Liv Nordestgaard, presented themselves to the audience, while Renate Schreiber prepared a remote movie. The written votes were collected from the attendants of the General Assembly. After the assembly the new OC members were determined by counting the votes (Alex and Nicola made the calculations). Fabrizia Bonacina (94 votes), Liv Nordestgaard (46 votes), Renate Schreiber 62 votes). Fabrizia Bonacina and Renate Schreiber were elected as new OC members (2024 – 2028) by the attendants of the General Assembly.

The statutes have not been changed. The Assembly Meeting minutes will be available on the ELC website within a month after the meeting.

The General Assembly was closed at 16:00.

Tutzing, September 13th, 2023

Alexander Bartelt Chairman

Machtan

Nicola Ferri Treasurer