

Minutes from the ELC Annual Member's Assembly September 11th, 2019, 16:40

Venue: Tutzing, Evangelische Akademie, Auditorium

The assembly was chaired by the Chairman of the ELC, Patrick Rensen. Patrick thanked the OC members for putting together this meeting and the EAS, the sustained sponsor and co-organizer. Special thanks to the people from the EAS, especially Charlotta Johansson. This year, 98 abstracts from 23 different countries were submitted. Everyone was invited to attend; 8 did not respond or cancelled and 2 did not show up. 36 abstracts were accepted for oral and 47 for poster presentations; 20 young scientists (56%) compete for two oral and 21 (45%) for 2 poster prize awards. The number of participants for this year's meeting was 98.

Patrick thanked all our sponsors (DFG, Akcea, Astra Zeneca, NovoNordisk, Sable Systems, Lipigon, Biosfer Teslab) and announced the annual meeting of the Scandinavian Society of Atherosclerosis Research in Humlebaek (April 15-18, 2020) and the 88th EAS Congress in Geneva (May 31 – June 3, 2020). ELC members will get a code sent by Charlotta to sign up as EAS members.

The date for the 43rd ELC meeting (September 7-10, 2020), Anne Tybjaerg-Hanssen as keynote speaker, the four invited speakers and deadline for submission of abstracts (May 1st, 2020) were presented. Schedule of the program and registration costs will be kept the same as this year.

Patrick explained the General Data and Protection Regulation. All delegates at the annual meeting automatically become members of the ELC with a possibility to opt out. ELC Statutes declare that "Every participant at the annual meeting becomes a member of the Club" (Article 3). The statutes have not been changed.

Election of a new member of the organizing committee (OC): The list of current OC members was presented and Patrick thanked the outgoing member Ludger Scheja (Germany). He explained the nomination and election process. ELC members nominated two candidates, the OC selected only one candidate (Alexander Bartelt, Germany). To be eligible to apply for the DFG grant every other

year, one committee member must be from Germany. Thus, Patrick proposed to elect Alexander Bartelt by raising the hand. Alexander was unanimously elected as new OC member (2020 - 2024).

The Assembly Meeting minutes will be available on the ELC website within a month after the meeting.

Looking forward seeing everyone again next year!

Tutzing, September 11th, 2019

Patrick Rensen

Chairman

Dagmar Kratky

Treasurer